Uncategorized

“Safe Foods” A Diet for Crohn’s Disease

I don’t know about you, but somedays it feels like food is not my friend. You think you’re doing better, but then a not-so-smart decision to try a few french fries or eat cheddar broccoli soup (never again) can have you out for days.

That’s why I developed a “safe foods” diet strategy. For the times I try to eat like a normal person and fail miserably, these are the foods I turn to on the road to recovery.

  1. Oats:  Oats have always been a staple in my diet. Oatmeal, granola bars, even oatmeal cookies. They always digest well. One of the reasons is because they contain soluble fiber, which my doctor told my to look for in my food. Basically, this type of fiber is slow moving and easy to break down in the digestive track. And it leaves you feeling comfortably full, not bloated.

2. Avocado: Avocados are the bees knees. First of all, they are mushy. My theory is, if the food is already mush, there is less of a chance that my intestines will turn on me. Plus, they are the base of my favorite garnish: guacamole. I have actually eaten a bowl of guac as a meal before. No shame

3. Peanut Butter: Smooth peanut butter is another great stable. It fits the mush factor and contains high amount of protein, which is perfect if you want to feel full and/or put some weight on.

4. Chicken: Red meat is traditional harder to digest than white meats, like chicken or turkey. I personally always turn to chicken for its mild flavor. Plus, if I have to eat out, I know that a restaurant will always a have some sort of grilled chicken breast on the menu.

 

In no way do I claim to be a doctor nor a dietician. These suggestions are all merely based on my experiences. However, an article on Health.com provides 13 suggestions on the Best Foods for Crohn’s Disease. Surprisingly, all four of mine made the list (yay!) So I’m not too far off. You can read more here: http://bit.ly/1hckJpk

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

