Uncategorized

FODMAPPIN’ Diet

It’s been a few weeks since I first started the Fodmap diet. It has become to not only a diet change, but a lifestyle change. And from what I’m experiencing, it’s a change for the better.

PROS:I feel a lot lighter. One thing the Fodmap diet promises to do is reduce the amount of gas and intestinal bloating by cutting out hard-to-digest carbs. I felt this effect within the first few days of switching diets. After eating, I felt full, but not uncomfortably full. This is definitely a step in the right direction for me!

CONS: Meals are now a minefield. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to already see a positive change in my digestion. But now I have to buy different products and give up some of my favorite foods (goodbye crunchy Cheetos!), which requires me to adapt. It makes me really think about what I put into my body, which will be a good thing in the long run! But for now, shopping, cooking and eating is going to take much longer than expected.

After these first trial weeks, I’ve decided to stay on the Fodmap fad. My new goal is to try and find products that are either substitutes for my favorites or surprisingly delicious GF/DF products. I may even try a recipe of two!

We shall see what the next few weeks of Fodmappin’ will hold!

-Traci

 

Leave a Reply

