Uncategorized

Fodmap Diet: Week 98470

I know it’s been several weeks since I last posted. And no, I didn’t keel over from eating the Fodmap diet. Instead, I’m happy to say I’ve been Fodmapping for several months strong!

At this point, the diet has become part of my normal routine. I stick to a certain few foods that works for me and rotate them on a daily basis. When I say few, I mean FEW. I could probably list the things I consume on a daily basis on one hand. Fingers ready, here they are:

  • Chicken
  • Fish
  • Bananas
  • Oats
  • Almond milk
  • Berries
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Carrots

Alright, so it’s more like two hands, but you get the point. I have had a lot of fun coming up with new recipes using these ingredients. Some include my overnight oatmeal, slow cooker chicken and banana cinnamon oatmeal cookies. I’m thinking of doing some posts with my recipes, too. I’m always looking for feedback!

One thing to keep in mind with the Fodmap diet – going out to eat is literally impossible. Even dishes, like salads, are a minefield of things you can’t eat. Can’t have those croutons, the cheese, the dressing, this vegetable, that vegetable. It’s really not worth you or the waiter’s time.

If you do go out, try to find a dish with your protein (chicken, fish, ect.) prepared in the simplest way. When in doubt, I order a grilled chicken breast and mixed veggies. It will leave you feeling much better than eating a risky dish.

Talking about all the things you CAN’T do on the Fodmap diet makes it seem depressing. I’m not going to lie – it’s a struggle. But the improvements in my digestion are worth it in the end. My doctor was so impressed with my health that I am reducing some of the supplements I take. I know this doesn’t happen for everyone, but it’s something I try to work toward on my own Crohn’s journey.

XO – Traci

 

Leave a Reply

